Concept

Swimrun is a sporting discipline created in 2002 in Sweden by 4 friends: Jesper and Mats Andersson, Anders Malm and Jane Lindberg. One evening, they set themselves a friendly challengeto see how fast they could travel - running and then swimming from Uto island to Sandhamn Island, near Stockholm. This challenge gave Mats Skotts and Michael Lemmel the idea to create the very first “swimrun” race in 2006 under the name of  “Ö till ö” (island to island). This 75 km race (65 km running & 10 km swimming) became the mother of all swimruns and the Holy Grail for followers of this discipline.

The aim of this multi-sport discipline is to connect two points on a route alternating swimming in open water and (trail) running sections. The participants swim with their running shoes and are free to use all sorts of swimming accessories but have to bear in mind they will then need to carry everything during the running sections. So whatever you take at the start of the race has to be kept until the finish line. External help is forbidden. The participants need to make some tactical decisions in order to safely progress safely and quickly through the race.

Littering is also strickly forbidden. Any team caucht throwing anything on the ground will be disqualified. This is a very important point for the organisers who are striving to make this race as green as possible with a target of zero impact on the environment.

Our core values:

  • Solidarity : among team members and different teams
  • Respect : For yourself, others and environment
  • Cooperation : between team members and teams
  • Responsibility : self-refereeing by the competitors

Concept

Le swimrun est une discipline sportive créée en Suède en 2002 par 4 amis :  Jesper et Mats Andersson, Anders Malm et Jane Lindberg. Un soir, ils se sont lancés le défi amical de relier à pied et en nageant le plus rapidement possible, l’ile d’Uto à l’île de Sandhamn au large de Stockholm. Il n’en fallut pas plus pour que Michael Lemmel et Mats Skotts créent en 2006 la première course de « swimrun » sous le nom de Ö till ö (île en île). Cette course de 75km (65km de course à pied et 10km de natation) est devenue la mère de tous les swimruns et le Saint Graal de ses pratiquants.

Le but de cette discipline multisport est de relier deux points au travers d’un parcours alternant des sections de nage en eau libre et de course à pied (trail). Les participants nagent avec leurs baskets et peuvent s’aider de plusieurs accessoires pour la natation mais ils doivent garder à l’esprit qu’ils vont devoir courir avec tout ce matériel. En effet, le matériel emporté au départ devra être conservé jusqu’à l’arrivée. L’aide extérieure est interdite. Les participants vont devoir faire des choix judicieux afin de pouvoir progresser rapidement et en toute sécurité.

Il est également interdit de jeter ses déchets par terre. L’organisation est intransigeante à ce sujet. Une équipe vue en train de jeter quoi que ce soit au sol se verra disqualifiée. Différents moyens seront mis en place pour rendre cette course plus écologique et avoir un impact minimum voir nul sur la nature.

Nos Valeurs principales :

  • Solidarité : Entre équipiers mais aussi entre équipes
  • Respect : De soi, des autres et de l’environnement
  • Coopération : Entre équipiers et entre équipes
  • Responsabilité : Auto-arbitrage par les concurrents